Orange Crate Derby

Posted by admin | Bristol Fourth of July Committee

The Bristol Fourth of July Committee's 67th Annual Orange Crate Derby will be held on Sunday, June 5, 2016 (rain date: June 12, 2016) on Bayview Avenue. The Derby check-in starts at 1:00 p.m., practice runs begin at 2:15 p.m. and with the races immediately following.

There will be one practice run allowed per entry. The race will be double elimination. Drivers should be between the ages of 7 and 14, be a resident of Bristol, RI, and all drivers are required to wear a helmet with chin strap, elbow pads, gloves. Optional safety gear includes goggles, mouth guard, safety belt.

Entry Details:

All cars will be required to pass a safety inspection to determine compliance with the above requirements, 90 minutes prior to the start of the race:

  • No wheel changes or oiling of bearings. No modification of car after inspection.
  • All servicing will be done in a designated area supervised by Committee members.
  • During the race, drivers must remain in control of their vehicles at all times and must remain in their assigned lanes.
  • The derby will be raced under the rule of Double Elimination.
  • Cars which do not meet all of the above requirements will be disqualified.
  • The decision of the judges are final.

Car Specifications

  • Maximum Overall Length: 78 inches.
  • Maximum Overall Width: 36 inches.
  • Maximum Overall Weight: No added weights.
  • Wheel Type: Sleeve bushing or non-high tech sealed ball bearing (No needle bearing) Grease only, no oil.14 inches max diameter.
  • Brakes: Foot operated front and rear wheel pressure brake. ( NO DRAG BRAKES).
  • Roll Bar: Metal pipe 1/2" - 3/4" ID or square tubing 1"OD (no wood or PVC), higher than driver with helmet, sitting upright.
  • Frame: Primarily wood, 2" maximum thickness plus enough metal to ensure safety. No protruding metal except roll bar.
  • Body: No metal body (Wood, fiberglass etc. are OK).

Orange Crate Derby Committee

For all inquires regarding the Orange Crate Derby, please contact:

Co-Chairman - Kevin Bowen

Co-Chairman - Bryan Leffingwell